NOTICE: The NCIA Board will be making significant changes to the training requirements to become an Assisted Living Caregiver. At some point in 2013, the training requirement, if true to the preliminary Board release, will require 96 hours of classroom and 40 hours of clinical externship for a combined requirement of 136 hours. Without question, tuition and time commitment will increase significantly. If you are considering becoming a Certified Caregiver, it would be a wise investment of both your time and money to achieve your certification before the new regulation goes into affect.
The Assisted Living Certified Caregiver Program, as approved by the Arizona Board for Nursing Care Institution Administrators and Assisted Living Facility Managers (NCIA Board) is a 62-hour equivalent program which includes a respective 30 hours of classroom/laboratory hours, and external classroom preparation. This program will provide students with the theory and skills required by the Arizona Department of Health Services to practice as a certified caregiver in the assisted living setting, and in some cases, home health agencies.
The curriculum covers the three levels of care regulated by the NCIA Board for the Assisted Living Industry employing as a foundation, Title 9 – Article 7 Assisted Living Facilities of the Arizona Administrative Code. Teaching methods encompass a variety of strategies including hands on practice, discussion, videos, as well as computer-aided technology. Students cover resident rights, preventing abuse, stress control, communication skills, medication administration, infection control, nutrition, service plans, activities of daily living, chronic disease processes and health and aging. Graduates will receive a Certification of Completion. No Board exam is required.
Classes are scheduled to complement the busy lifestyle needs of the student. A one week Day Program (Monday thru Friday from 9:00am to 3:00pm), a two consecutive Saturday and Sunday (8:00am to 4:00pm) Weekend Program, and a seven (7) evening, 5:00pm to 9:00pm Evening Program are available for selection.
- View Schedule of Classes
- Register For Classes
- View/Print “2013 Assisted Living Information” (PDF format)
- The student must be 18 Years of Age. (Students who are 16 or 17 years old can become an Assistant Caregiver by taking the same course. At 18, they will receive a Certified Caregiver Certification)
- Copy of High School Diploma, G.E.D., College Diploma/Transcript, or AMTI Test is required.
- Complete 62 hour equivalent classroom and external requirement.
- Pass all competency exams at 80% or higher, and 80% or higher on the course final exam.
TUITION, COST AND FEES:
- Course Tuition is $250.00 (includes textbook and lab materials). Pay tuition in full at registration.
POST GRADUATE OPPORTUNITIES AND REQUIREMENTS:
- Vocational opportunities exist to work as a Certified Caregiver in assisted living homes, facilities, and home health care agencies. The candidate must be 18 years old, a Certified Caregiver, with current certification in CPR and First Aid, plus a negative TB test to solicit these opportunities.